• I have fastaccess DSL. I am trying to hook my ps3 (wired connection) to my D-link EBR-2310 router. I am having some major problems and am in need of some assistance.

For some reason when i am trying to connect my ps3 up to my router it will not work when trying to connect to the internet. I have followed all of the instuctions and put in the imformation correctly into the internet connection settings. I finally got it to obtain an IP adress and everthing seemed to be going good. It told me to update the system software and this is where it became a problem. When i started the update it wouldnt go past 3%, it comes up with an error saying, "An error occurred during the download operation. A connection to the server cannot be established. (80710723)"

I am new to all of this and do not really understand how to work and find out things. Can you please help guide me through this problem so I can get my ps3 connected to the internet.
  • Sounds like you may need to open certain ports in the router's port forwarding and maybe add a setting in the router's DHCP Client List. Fortunately I was able to find an emulator on D-Link's site so i should be able to guide you step by step.

First, let's do the DHCP bit. Once you log into the router settings on the computer click the Advanced tab along the top and then click "Network Filter" in the menu along the left side of the screen. In the menu at the top select "turn mac filtering on and allow computers listed to access the network". Now, in the first blank type in the MAC Address of the PS3- you can find this by going to Settings/ System Settings/ System Information on the PS3. Once you have that typed in click the Save Settings button up above (you may want to do this for your computer as well).