Playstation 3 Internet Connection Problems=(
  • Hey,
    i just joined 10 minutes before posting this thread so i am quite new to this.
    i am not a wizz at gaming and computers so please do not use tricky words!

Anyway, down to business.
    I connected my ps3 the start of this year, wirelessly, fine, i was amazed that it worked since the computer and router are behind walls and what not,
    now i cannot get the internet at all, i have placed in the right details, but it says DNS ERROR!! i asked a friend who has the same router as me and has connected wirelessly before and he says that i need a security code/thing for the WEP KEY?????????????

i am losing my patcience with this machine and with new games coming out with online, i need the net on pronto!

Any help is greatly appreciated!

-Elias
  • The WEP key would be a possible solution if someone has turned on this encryption method on your router. You would need to go into the router settings on your computer and find this key, then change your PS3 settings to enter this same key.

Thing is, I'm somewhat doubting if it is the need of a WEP key if you never had this turned on in the first place. I would suggest going into the router settings (if you aren't sure how this is done let us know what brand and model router you have) and check out the various tabs to find the DNS Server numbers. Once you do find these, edit them into your PS3's settings.
  • Wow! thanks for the fast reply, and i don't think it is a WEP Key.
    my router brand and model is listed:
    BRAND: NETGEAR
    MODEL: DG834PN
  • OH, and i am moving my Playstation 3 to my Plasma TV, it is some what closer and has less walls between the computer then the spot it is in right now, would i be able to do select "automatic" for my details instead of placing them in to the ps3 settings?

-Elias