apple vs pc
  • My laptop is not going to last much longer. I currently use a dell and half of the monitor is unattached so Im going to get a new computer. I've been looking into the apples, but im not so sure they are worth the higher price. Does anybody have any experience with both systems and can help me out? I've also been looking into hp pavilion laptops as well.
  • Sorry Mike i have no experience of Apple Mac's, BUT i have read they are much more stable, less vulnerable to viruses and hacks etc.

Most people who have used one seem to be of the opinion, once youv'e had an apple, a windows PC comes a poor second.

My advice, trawl a few Mac forums etc, or google "PC vs MAC", i'm sure most people stick with windows PC's beacuse they are afraid of venturing into the unknown.

I would imagine there are pros and cons on both sides, but if you don't try, you'll never find out.

AND, lets face it the iBook etc look bloody good!!
  • As a Commercial Graphic Designer, I use Mac's on a daily basis, and have done so for many, many years. I use a Mac because it is still somewhat of an industry standard in professional design and print shops...but that is changing as well.

In regards to Mac's being more stable, yes, it is true, but one must remember that Mac's also use propriety software...meaning the programs are more expensive as well.

IMHO, unless you are using a Mac for professional-level workloads in the realm of Graphic Design or print related collateral, I would stick with a PC. The programs are much cheaper, easier to find, and there is no shortage of folks who can repair the computer if it goes down. (You ought to see the price to repair a Mac).

Although I use a Mac for my work, I NEVER use it for my surfing, game playing and general recreational use. Although I have used Mac's for years, I really am not a fan of Mac's as a whole.