Trouble connecting PS2 to the net
  • Hi all,

I am somewhat new to the world of gaming, so please forgive any outrageously stupid questions I might ask.

I live in the UK and my brother lives in the Netherlands. We have both purchased second-hand PS2s because we have been led to believe we can connect these to the internet and play games together. We understand many games have been discontinued but that some remain available to be played online for the time being.

At present I have bought a slimline PS2 and several games that according to some websites can still be played online. I do not, however, have a Network Access Disc (due to the PS2 being second hand). Having searched the web I found that Medal of Honor: Rising Sun comes with this utility, so have used this to try and connect to the network.

I have connected the PS2 by ethernet cable to a router, which in turn is connected to a modem. My laptop is connected to the same router using a wireless connection. I have set the IP and DSN configuration as automatic, like they are on my laptop. I have tried setting it up stating my ISP does not require a password and tried entering a username and password provided to me by my ISP years ago when I joined them. I have switched off the modem, router and PS2 and then restarted them in that order before trying to connect, but in both cases when testing the connection, eventually it times out. I have tried connecting the PS2 directly to the modem, but this also times out.

Am I doing something wrong here? I know I am not very computer literate, so it may be something very obvious.

I would really appreciate any help you would be able to give me.

Cheers.
  • I have disconnected everything, switched everything off, reconnected everything and switched everything back on, and the test now runs successfully.

My joy was short-lived however. Upon trying to connect Rainbow Six: Lockdown, I am met by the following message: