Problem Connecting My Ps3
  • Hello there:-)
    I have a problem!
    I have a ps3 and am having problems connecting to the internet.
    I have a powerpc G4 e-mac-0s x-firefox
    I also have a 8 port router ethernet switch thang!
    My cable modem is plugged straight into the router.
    My computer is plugged straight into the router

I have set up a private network so that my computer has to be on for all others on the network to connect to the internet.
    When i put the playstation onto the router to join my lan it reconises it on the port.

I have manually put in private ip address, subnetmask, default router, and all other info needed etc.
    (I will admit to only putting one dns no in. I don't use these on the mac-the dhcp does all automatically and does not give dns, just leaves blank.)
    But all info i put in, i think, although i'm not an expert by any means, is ok.

The problem is when i press to connect on the playstation it reconises the ip address but won't connect- giving me an error no: 80710102 and message:
    "an error occured while resolving the name with the server"

I really truely cannot work out which bit i have got to go in and change. Or indeed what this error means so i may know what i have done wrong.

Please please help me i am desperate to go on line with the ps3 and i know am oh so close!!! I can provide more technicle info if needed to sort problem out. For instance i have allowed my firewall to let things share the net etc.

I have looked at alot of your faqs but it was all for wireless or straight into the cable modem.
    I do have a router which you recomend is best, but i seem to be having the same probs as everyone else?????!!!!!

Confused i am!!!!
    ilex
  • The problem may be the DNS servers, etc.- considering the Mac doesn't normally use them you may want to try going automatic for all. Sometimes the best solution is the simplest. ;)
  • Hi there,