scph 1002 pot replacement help
  • i've been using this site since 2001 and decided to ask here for expert help.

I have a very old Playstation bought in 1994 with both the Bias/Gain potentiometers damaged, that is they're missing the heads that adjusts them....

I noticed this in 2005, when it refuse to boot up and just spun very fast then stopped.

i was going to take it to the junk yard for money but
    recently found a website that says you can replace the pots with resistors
    Playstation 1 Technical Reference

but its not clear what i need to do and i am worried of damaging the board, should I pull 2 pots out with pliers then solder resistors onto the same spot?

this photo isn't clear where the resistors are placed, can anyone recognise this part of the board? it's not said where they are, beside the fuses or ribbon cable? :crybaby:

• You are looking at the wrong picture- check the pic below the one you added to your post. Those copper-looking wires in it are the resistors.
  • Hi agian!

thanks for your reply, but are you sure the resistors are actually these wires on the very bottom page (last photo?)

i have resistors with me already and they are the same color as the ones on photo attached in my 1st post. i just dont know where i should solder them because the website didn't say where to but only showed the photo i attached
    !
  • They should be easy enough to find on the motherboard itself- use the marking along the side of the "mo bo" and around the chips to locate the right spot.
  • i've actually found a photo of my mo-bo here http://obrazki.elektroda.net/76_1244041685.jpg its a 1002 like mine exactly

i cant clearly find the Q502 on the link here, but on photo 1 it's clearly visible so i'm not sure if the bearykirby uses a 1002 psx on his photo?

i see a tiny smf chip beside resistors but can't figure out what code it is? is there any diagram of the motherboard 1002?
  • Ok! time to open up my playstation!!