What is you job?
  • I am curious as to what others do for a living.

First and foremost, NEVER be embarrassed to answer if you work for a living. To me, someone flipping burgers to support themselves (and/or their family) is no different than a CEO of a company. The pay may be different, but we all do what we have to to pay the bills.

With that being said, I will start:

I am a commercial Graphic Designer and also a Digital Pre-press operator. I have been doing so for approximately 20 years, and find it to be extremely rewarding (for the most part).

No matter where I work, I am always allowed to dress as casual as I want (because I am usually away from the public), and enjoy the creativity, problem-solving and freedom this particular career allows me.

The Graphic Design is self-explanatory, but for those who don't know what Digital Pre-press is, I convert files from other designers, and properly prepare them for the offset printing process. (Checking that the colors are correct, fonts and images are correct and true, adjust trapping, chokes, bleeds, etc...)

Although I am very fortunate in what I do, I have had my fair share of dirty work with terrible hours and worse pay. I have not forgotten what that is like, where I came from, and I have a HUGE amount of respect for those who break their backs and put up with less-than-ideal working conditions. I have absolutely NO respect for arrogant, look-down-their-noses types who scoff at those "in the trenches", as the saying goes.

So, how about you, what is your "daily grind"?
  • Most of the veterans here will likely recall that my main job was at a seafood processing plant, had been at that place since June 1984. As much as I would like to make the site my main job, that just isn't in the cards (unless I hit the super 7 or lotto 6 49 over the weekend).